skip navigation

Black Hawks Announce Team Awards

By WBH, 04/09/19, 1:00PM CDT


On- and Off-Ice Accomplishments Noted

Leading scorer Emil Ohrvall, NHL Draft prospect Vladislav Firstov, and stalwart veteran defenseman Mason Palmer were among the Waterloo Black Hawks recognized with 2018/19 team awards.

Ohrvall was tapped as the team’s Most Valuable Player in a vote by his peers.  The 20-year-old from Sweden currently paces the team in goals (31) and points (63).  Ohrvall’s four hat tricks are the most by a Black Hawk in one season in 25 years.  On a USHL-wide basis, Ohrvall ranks fourth in goals and seventh in points.

Among other recognition bestowed amongst the players, Firstov was named Rookie of the Year.  His 56 points currently tie him for the league lead among rookies.  Palmer was voted the team’s “Unsung Hero,” as well as sharing “Hardest Worker” honors with Connor Caponi.  Kyle Haskins was recognized as the Hawks’ “Most Improved Player.”

Away from the rink, James Marooney and Griffin Ness shared the organization’s Community Service Award by accumulating the highest service hour count.  Defenseman Hank Sorensen was presented with the Roth Jewelers Front Office Player of the Year Award for his contributions to the organization.

Rookie forward Wyatt Schingoethe was named the Slumberland Furniture Fan’s Choice Player of the Year, based on charitable contributions made by fans to a special fund dispersed among community groups.

Radio announcer Tim Harwood was recognized with the Karen Wente Distinguished Service Award.  Named for the team’s late housing coordinator, the award commemorates her legacy of service to the organization.