skip navigation

Postgame Recap: Cowbells Ring for Home Finale

By WBH, 04/12/19, 10:45PM CDT


Marooney, Cassetti Score Early

The Waterloo Black Hawks clinched the three-team Dupaco Cowbell Cup with a 2-1 win against the Dubuque Fighting Saints Friday at Young Arena.

The Dupaco Cowbell Cup signifies hockey excellence in eastern Iowa.  The trophy is annually contested between the Hawks, the Saints, and the Cedar Rapids RoughRiders.  Friday’s win ties Waterloo and Cedar Rapids, but the Black Hawks own the tie-breaker and will keep the Cup for the third consecutive year.

All of the scoring came within the span of two minutes, 14 seconds early in the first period.  Defenseman James Marooney recorded the first goal at 3:37.  Picking up the puck in the neutral zone along the right boards, he crossed the blue line in the middle of the ice.  Marooney’s shot deflected off a defender’s stick, fluttering toward to goal.  It went off Matthew Thiessen’s glove and over his shoulder as he tried to make a backhanded save.

Joe Cassetti extended the lead during a power play at 4:52.  Set up in the slot, Cassetti redirected Hank Sorensen’s shot.  However, the Fighting Saints answered in transition 59 seconds later.  Riese Gaber’s pass in transition hit a defender and caromed past Evan Fear.

The Hawks’ netminder stopped all of Dubuque’s other chances, making 26 saves for the win.  That included 11 saves in the third period.  Waterloo outshot the Saints 28-27, but Dubuque had an 11-8 edge in the third.

The same teams meet Saturday at Mystique Ice Center.  A Waterloo win would yield the second seed in the USHL Western Conference Clark Cup Playoffs.  The puck drops at 7:05.

Dubuque 1 0 0 - 1
Waterloo 2 0 0 - 2

1st Period-1, Waterloo, Marooney 3   3:37. 2, Waterloo, Cassetti 19 (Schingoethe, Sorensen), 4:52 (PP). 3, Dubuque, Gaber 23 (Jackson, Greenway), 5:51. Penalties-Knierim Dbq (tripping), 4:17; Palmer Wat (tripping), 11:11; Cameron Wat (slashing), 15:30.

2nd Period- No Scoring.Penalties-Ness Wat (holding), 4:25; Knierim Dbq (tripping), 9:46; Fulp Dbq (tripping), 15:54; Smyth Dbq (roughing), 15:54; Sorensen Wat (roughing), 15:54.

3rd Period- No Scoring.Penalties-Knierim Dbq (unsportsmanlike cnd.), 0:39; Palmer Wat (roughing), 0:39.

Shots on Goal-Dubuque 7-9-11-27. Waterloo 9-11-8-28.
Power Play Opportunities-Dubuque 0 / 3; Waterloo 1 / 3.
Goalies-Dubuque, Thiessen 18-18-4-4 (28 shots-26 saves). Waterloo, Fear 18-11-6-1 (27 shots-26 saves).
Referees-Brian Hankes.
Linesmen-Bryan Gorcoff, Mitchell Hunt.