skip navigation

Caponi, Ozar National Champs

By WBH, 04/09/22, 11:15PM CDT


Hawks Alumni Celebrate as Denver Wins Frozen Four Final

Former Black Hawks forwards Connor Caponi and Owen Ozar are now part of the regularly expanding list of Waterloo skaters who have gone on to win a Division I college hockey national championship.
The Denver Pioneers defeated Minnesota State 5-1 in Boston on Saturday.  Denver is the sixth consecutive title-winning team to include multiple Black Hawks on their roster.

Caponi is a sophomore and played in 36 Denver games with four goals and an assist during 2021/22.  Over two seasons with the Black Hawks, Caponi appeared 72 times.  The Milwaukee native notched 21 goals and 14 assists for the Hawks.  His Waterloo career included four game-winning goals during the 2019/20 campaign.

Ozar played in 21 games as a freshman this winter, including the finale.  He had one assist during the season.  As a Black Hawk in 2020/21, Ozar missed just one game, recording 15 goals and 19 assists.  He ranked second in team scoring.

Three former Black Hawks were part of the Pioneer’s last championship in 2017 when Michael Davies, Blake Hillman, and Tyson McLellan was all skating for the Denver program.  Andrew Thomas (2005) and Luke Fulghum (2004 and 2005) have also won titles while playing for the Pioneers.